English Premier League Overview and History

Since its formation in 1992 the Enlglish Premier League has become one of the most highly watched domestic football competitions in the world, attracting many of the game’s top players. It is the top tier in the English game, a game which prior to the new league’s introduction was struggling with falling attendances. Before 1992 the top tier was the Football League’s Division 1 and to form a new independent Premier League all the top flight clubs had to resign their Division 1 membership.

On August 15th 1992 twenty two clubs kicked off the inaugural Premier League season, with Sheffield United’s Brian Deane taking the honour of scoring the first goal. Since that date 49 clubs have played in the Premier League. The ever present members are Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham.

Premier League Football Information and Format

Since the 1994/95 season the Premier League has consisted of twenty teams, a reduction of two from the original format. There are three points for a win and one point for a draw. The league is not a closed shop with three clubs relegated every season, to be replaced by three sides from the EFL Championship.

The teams filling the top 4 places in the Premier League compete in the following season’s UEFA Champions League, Europe’s top club competition. There are a further three spots available for clubs finishing 5th and below to enter UEFA’s Europa League competition. The Premier League’s status was emphasised in the 2018/2019 season when all four finalists for the Champions League and Europa League finals were Premier League teams.

On the domestic front Premier League clubs enter the FA Cup in round three, while they also compete in the EFL cup. Although many managers tend to give squad members game time in the early rounds, the domination of these competitions in recent years by the big Premier League clubs point to how much they still want to win these trophies.

The Big 6

After winning the inaugural Premier League Manchester United became the dominant force for some time under the guidance of their manager, Alex Ferguson. United have landed 13 Premier League titles, the last of which was in season 2012/13. They have had to watch as their local rivals Manchester City claimed the trophy 4 times in the last 8 seasons.

Alongside the two Manchester clubs, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham are currently viewed as the ‘big 6’, the ones you need to beat to have any chance of silverware. Although Tottenham have yet to win the title the other 5 clubs have won in all the other seasons except two, when Blackburn and more recently Leicester City triumphed.

The Enlglish Premier League has produced a host of impressive stats and football information. The Arsenal side of 2003/04 went down in history as the Invincibles after setting a Premier League record of 49 unbeaten games, going on to clinch the title in 2004. On an individual level Alan Shearer remains the league’s top goalscorer with 260 goals, with Wayne Rooney next on the list with 208 goals.